Positivity- 2

Last week, I wrote about measuring Positivity. This week I share some updates on how my positivity fared, and the results of the technique I was trying out.

Last week, after about ten days of measurement and analysis; I found that even on my best days, my positivity ratio never surpassed 3 on the scale. It seemed like the negative events were dragging my ratio down keeping it lower than 3.

Note: The related study puts forth the range of 3-11 as the ideal positivity ratio. Loosely translated, it is the ratio of positives and negatives of life. 3-11 ensures that you have sufficient gladness and optimism to counter negatives and move forward brimming with confidence and cheer without being delusional or blind to realities.

Reiterating, I felt the negatives were swaying my positives. I wondered if my ‘frame of mind during recall’ could have any influence on this test. It seemed logical but I wanted to test it for sure. This test is to be taken at roughly the same time everyday which for me is in my harried, strained mornings. Hence, I felt my negative and glum mindset might be influencing my recall. Accordingly, this whole week, I made sure to read delightful articles and inspiring notes for a couple of minutes before taking the test.

I am happy to note that the resetting of my frame of mind helped me to recall more happy moments of the day, essentially all the ‘wins’. Consequently, my positivity factors have boosted quite significantly. A snapshot is shown below:

PositivityRatio

This little test led me to thinking about doubling my ‘Sugar Jar’, ‘Gratitude Journaling’ and other activities. But details on those are for another post.

Until then, have a great weekend ahead! Stay positive, stay healthy, stay happy!

 

One thought on “Positivity- 2

Leave a comment