An Extra Hour

We all wish for an extra hour at some point of time in our lives. Me, I wish for extra minutes every day, mostly multiple times. Mommy hood has done that to me. Like the toddler, even I wish for a scant few more minutes- to sleep, to eat, to read, to watch videos, study, you can imagine the list.

And then I realized- Feb 29, meaning today is an EXTRA DAY!

24 hours extra!

Yes, we still need to cook, clean, and attend to all those activities that consume the majority of our hours in a typical work day.But even then, one hour. We can steal/ snatch/ grab (substitute whatever verb suits your life best) one hour. How do 4 fifteen minutes slots sound? Yup, we can do it.

I have decided to take one hour to cross out things that I really want to do. Not the pressing chores or housework or pending mails and calls. Nope. Things that give me happiness, probably even things off that bucket list. But I am definitely doing the things I ought to- like that online course I need to finish or the ironing pile that has been mocking me since days. (It never goes down. Sigh!) Work comes and keeps coming. Crises always keep occurring. But opportunities don’t knock twice. Or at least frequently. So, enjoy an hour today. That is today’s task for me. hopefully, this post will inspire you to take an hour off for yourself as well.

Enjoy!

[As an example, I am writing down what I am going to do in my spare hour.

  1. Talk to my Mom. For half an hour. No sharing Skype with toddler. Mommies need their mommies too! With undivided attention.
  2. Admire ToddlerT for ten minutes while she dances. I am always playing with, singing to, feeding, or teaching her. Or trying to mindfully multi-task as she plays independently. Not today. Ten minutes of just gazing at my little bundle of joy.
  3. Make a bucket list. I am eternally grateful to the Good Lord for giving me all the best things in life. But we all need dreams, outrageous plans and to shoot for the stars (farther than where we are). Twenty minutes to chalk out a bucket list should be an interesting way to spend on creating a list that I have always wanted make.

An hour today won’t make me a happier person or a better manager of my time. But it is a good launching pad for the rest of the year. A few stolen minutes to make cherished moments of joy is always a good idea, right? With hope and lofty expectations, here’s wishing all reading this post- a fabulous day and a splendid year ahead. Keep reading and share your ideas (tasks) for the spare hour today!

Leave a Reply

