Weekly Update – 8

Oh my Goodness, has it really been two months since I began the weekly update? Time sure flies. Well, here’s this week’s update.

List three awesome things that happened this week.

  1. We all went to see the firecrackers for Diwali celebrations in the Aurora temple of Greater Chicago. ToddlerT loved the display and kept saying Firecrackers and Wow! each time a cracker lighted up the whole sky. I don’t know what was better, the display or ToddlerT’s delighted babble. (Ok, I do know- it’s the latter. :P)
  2. We had our very first snow shower today. It was splendid. I am so looking forward to ToddlerT discovering snow and ice and making a snowman. She’s seen two winters (she was born in peak snowtime- hence, two winters despite being a little under two) but has yet been too young to really savor the wonders of it. I can’t wait to see her Eureka moments.
  3. ToddlerT has taken to dragging her favorite clothes all through the house. I hope this is a phase but it’s silly and cute for now. I love it!

Mention the one event or concept or person I felt strongly about.

It’s Halloween today. We’re dressing up ToddlerT as a LadyBug. For this week, I’d like to stress the importance of celebrations- ours and others’. I’ve grown up in Mumbai and so, celebrated a lot of festivals other than my own family’s. It’s a great way to stay connected to your own culture and roots while also learning about other people’s customs and cultures. While I certainly am not in favor of ostentatious and break-the-bank kind of revelry, I do think it important to indulge in traditions-old and new. Plus, in today’s hectic and super stressful lives, such events spark happiness, entice people to meet with old friends and new and catch up with LIFE.

So, have fun. Smile a lot. Stay connected (to real people, not just virtual ones. Enjoy life. And Happy Halloween!!

Leave a Reply

