Weekly Update – 3

It’s amazing interesting horrible startling how quickly another week has gone by. So, it’s time for a weekly update. I find it slightly sad that I have been doing weekly update for three weeks in a row. But then, the thought of five, or was it six weeks of no writing at all comes flashing to me. Obviously, the present alternative is better. So, here are the answers for the week.

List three awesome things that happened this week.

  • BabyT loves watching the trucks go by. She loves gazing out of the window (so long as I’m with her). It’s wonderful to see her so.
  • Finished reading the book Boy Meets Girl by Meg Cabot. Awesome. I love her epistolary style novels.
  • My Dad’s birthday. It’s today actually. BabyT got the words Happy Birthday almost right on Skype and that really made his day.
  • I know this is the fourth but I have to mention that India successfully accomplished MOM. Yahoo! As an Indian, I cannot help but feel proud and list this point. 🙂

Mention the one event or concept or person I felt strongly about.

For today, I would like to talk about the usage of the Magic Words and politeness in speech. It is silly  disappointing how those four words are fading. I am trying to teach them to BabyT through my own example and I am appalled to see the lack of polite conversations in adults. It’s as if we adopt these words only in the presence of little pitchers. I, for one, still do use all the magic words. Yes, I truly do.Admittedly, my Mom, to this day, admonishes me if I fail to mind my P’s and Q’s. Hmmm… I am also sorry that I need somebody to monitor me. And that so do so many of my peers.

It makes me wonder if my generation is slowly throttling politeness. We are embracing brevity in everything. That’s good  but not entirely. I think of Twitter, IM, 20-20 IPL, SMS language. We use minimal words. Ideally, that should be wonderful and lead to more powerful verse ( a la Ernest Hemingway style) ; but is it? I mention that our four magic words are fading. That is not the trouble. What I fear is that slowly, these four words are dying and four letter words are taking over.

Sounds ominous, doesn’t it? Hence, I’m trying to consciously adopt a more polite than necessary attitude. I can’t make the world change, true, but I can make my world change. At least a little bit.

On that hopeful note, thank you for reading this. And sorry, if there were any errors. (If so, please do mention them in the comments or email me.) Have a splendid weekend.

Leave a Reply

