Ironing & Me

If you have been reading this blog regularly, (I hope you have!); you would know that I always lag with my ironing. But this weekend, I decided to conquer it once and for all.

I spent the mid-mornings of both Saturday and Sunday to get over my never-ending pile of clothes to be ironed. And as a precautionary step: I did my laundry on Saturday dawn, so I would not have a new heap just when I finished my ironing. I am simply delighted to state that I did it! All clothes ironed.

I did not have to iron anything the whole week: nothing at all.

Ok, I confess. I had to give T’s jeans and shirt a quick swipe with my iron. But, that was for Preschool Picture Day, and it definitely classifies as special circumstances 🙂

I must say, the feeling is delightful! I am savoring it all I can; so, next time I can ride this triumphant wave to vanquish my Ironing Stack!

And yes, I deliberately choose capital letters for my ‘Ironing Stack’ because I am awful at this activity. Not ironing, no! There is always YouTube to teach me the perfect way to press pants and iron shirts. (Yes, there is a difference!) It is staying on top of my ironing chore that I am abysmal at. I often feel that my Bag of Clothes to be Ironed is very much like the ‘Akshay Patra’ of the Hindu mythology, it never seems to get empty. But not this week! Hurrah!

While ironing does not seem like a topic that warrants a full post, it is March and the time for spring cleaning. Besides, I just am so brimming with joy -much like that bag of washed apparel until last week- that I had to pen my thoughts. Do you find any household chore to be a drag and a bone of contention? If so, leave me a comment, I’d love to chat about other domestic demons. [Ha ha! I am in a such a victorious mood!]

Be happy and stay warm! Adieu!

Leave a comment